Alex’s experiences on Tinder

Being a member of a long term relationship silently jumping on board the Tinder train was an expedition that I was undoubtedly uneasy about. Despite this, I jumped on board the first carriage and quietly maintained a profile all in the name of research for my Digital Artefact for the BCM112 subject of Wollongong University.
I figured that seeing how the application worked first hand was the best way to understand the dynamics of the seemingly infamous dating app that is unrivaled for it’s “ease, sleaze and ability to please.” But no, that was not an original catch phrase, although I’m sure something similar was used on my partner in crime Katie Turnbull, who I teamed up with for this task.

Check out some action shots of Katie’s profile, as she attracted a smorgasbord of corny, cheesy and just plain sleezy pick up lines.
I have to admit, it’s been a pleasure and a lot of fun working alongside Katie, and I think we had the personalities to suit such a controversial yet hilarious topic such as Tinder.

Although the shallow nature of Tinder and the monotony of continually swiping is an arduous task, the hardest part to me was choosing a suitable photo to depict you as a person. People judge you solely based on your physical appearance at first glance, and although I don’t view myself as a particularly good looking bloke, I was surprised at how hard it was to find matches with people in your local area. Within the first few weeks I was subject to a few dull and meaningless conversations, and although I wasn’t exactly looking for a ‘Tinderella’ I knew there would have to be something more I could do to attract female attention.

With a change of attitude came a change of luck. After swapping my display photo from a rather underwhelming one of myself to the first bloke on google under the description ‘male fitness model’ I started to enjoy a rather rapid increase in the number of matches I was able to make. Firstly, this was absolutely laughable but at the same time, quite revealing. The message to me that was conveyed is clear. We live in such a aesthetically driven society that personality comes second, and we are losing old school values. Who said chivalry is dead? Tinder said it, loud and clear.

About alexdebs

Second year Bachelor of Communications and Media studies student at the University of Wollongong. I am an aspiring journalist with a passion for sport, music and travel.
This entry was posted in Digital Artefact and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

