Portrait: Nick Davoren

Music is special to me. It can take you to a place unlike any other, it’s magic.

Getting to know Nick over the course of the semester has been nothing short of a pleasure. A down to earth country boy at heart, Nick is an incredibly genuine individual who believes it’s important to stay grounded no matter what you achieve in life.

“I think it’s pretty important to never forget where you came from, ultimately it’s made you what you are, and what you’re destined to be.”

After studying teaching for one year at Charles Sturt University in Wagga Wagga, Nick discovered he was destined for a vastly different career path. Moving from his hometown of Wagga was never going to be an easy decision, forming the challenge of establishing himself in a new environment.

“I studied at my local university because it was convenient, comfortable. I thought I’d give it crack but it just wasn’t for me”

Despite this the 20 year old moved away from his family to reside on campus in Wollongong, to study a double degree in Creative Arts and Communications and Media.

“I figured that if you never go outside your comfort zone you can never progress as a person. When I got the offer to come to Wollongong I was so excited and since then, I haven’t looked back.”

Self described as impulsive, direct and unsure, Nick believes these attributes will enable him to reach his goal of working in radio alongside his greatest passion in life, music.

“I’d like to think I can bring my own sense of personality and individualism in any environment. Traveling overseas to London or New York would be amazing, I think gaining those experiences would help anyone find a sense of direction in life.”

Music has always been apart of Nick’s life, being exposed to it from a young age. He is an accomplished guitarist with aspirations of music writing and recording, who has already performed numerous times at venues in his hometown.

“I just love how expressive and experimental it can be. There’s music for every mood and everyone’s interests for that matter.”


Nick also has a strong connection to artists who are able to invent their own style and move away from stereotypical performance.

“In terms of artists I really admire Nick Cave, his music is different and his own style. It makes me think that more unique styles of music are widely accepted, and that’s encouraging for someone like me.”

Nick’s career motivation stems from a firm self belief, understanding that the best way to achieve any goal in life is to have faith in your abilities.

“I figure if you want something badly enough there isn’t anything that can stop you. I want to be able to step into an industry and change it somehow, leave my mark on it… Leave an impact that will be noticed’’

Nick has an outstanding attitude towards life, with unmistakable modesty and humility.  Adopting his own style and a free spirit will no doubt provide him with a platform to succeed in his years of study to come.

“I think everyone has their own style, their own way.. What makes mine different? I guess i’m yet to fully find out.”

Written by Alex Debs

About alexdebs

Second year Bachelor of Communications and Media studies student at the University of Wollongong. I am an aspiring journalist with a passion for sport, music and travel.
This entry was posted in JRNL 101 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Portrait: Nick Davoren

  1. Pingback: Master Post | JRNL101 Assignment 3 | unsavedchanges

Leave a Reply

